Yeah. I did. Shhh…

October 16, 2007 at 5:46 am 1 comment

Alrighty…well here it goes…

I’ve made another impromptu decision about something I wanted.  It’s major too, not just your run of the mill dilemma on whether you should upgrade your cable to include HBO or Showtime.  Nope, it’s way more than that, and it’s not that I regret the decision, it’s that in the back of my head I know it wasn’t the wisest choice.  It was a pretty stupid one actually, and really made no sense what so ever.  I expect a lot of ridicule from people about it actually…and a whole lot of “What!?!”  “You did not!?” — oh yeah…I can hear it now.  But damn it all, it was love at first sight and I couldn’t think straight.

So what the hell did I do?  Prepare yourself.

I bought a puppy.  And we have 3 dogs now.

3 DOGS

{{{3}}}

Yes, yes.  I know you think I’m crazy.  We’re all crazy in our own way though….. right??  Right? Ha.

We first saw her at the mall on Sunday, so tiny and cute, but Andrew said HELL TO THE NO and we went home.  He’s always the rational one.  Then tonight we went back to show the girls the puppy I talked about constantly last night, and really, once I think about it, Andrew should have known better to let me go back so soon.  I asked to hold her so we took her to a little playroom and she was just the cutest thing you ever saw.  Not timid at all, just happy to be out of her little white cell.  I couldn’t imagine putting her back in that cold looking cage, even if the jury was still out with Andrew.  I knew it wasn’t practical, I knew we could put out money to better things (like bills!) but F*ck!  I didn’t do the sensible thing at all…I caved.  And I feel a little stupid, until I look at her and it all washes away.

Her name is “Delta”  and she’s a mini dachshund.  She weighs a whole 3.2 pounds and is black with a hint of brown on her feet and ears.  The “boys” (Chief & Gatsby) have been great with her so far, and she’s a little spit-fire with them and not afraid one bit.  I can just imagine how huge they must look to her, yet she jumps up on them and tries to play all the same.  She’s been great in the kennel so far too.  Gatsby and Chief sleep in theirs and prefer it that way because that’s how they’ve been raised, so we will do the same with her…or it just wouldn’t be fair, and the boys just might go on strike!  She doesn’t seem to mind at all, she just cuddles up in the blanket and settles in for a nap.  Of course, I haven’t spent a night with her yet, but Andrew is as I type this, so hopefully she does good tonight and doesn’t keep him up all night.  Like I said, Andrew is the sensible one so he is still warming up to the idea and giving me “looks”….yeah…you can imagine.

I will try and get to taking some pictures of her tomorrow.   And I will let you know how easy it is (or isn’t) to catch some Z’s during the day with a puppy in the house.  Hopefully it’s not too bad.  Cross your fingers for me, even if you do think I’m stupid! 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Finally! Puppies and Coffee

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dwain  |  October 17, 2007 at 2:42 am

    I fully understand, its in your blood, you can help yourself when it comes to animals, we just love’em!!! With Barb’s sons dog we have three too, its not so bad, not if you love’em. Now
    Andrew I can’t believe he did not stop you, or can he when you get your mind set??? I think its cool.

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 9,056 hits

Credits

View My Portfolio

