Cold Feet

November 19, 2007 at 1:48 am 7 comments

Don’t you just hate it when you step in the shower too early and the water is still cold?  Your forced to wait for it to warm up butt-naked &  freezing your ass off,  while bone chilling water hits your feet for what seems like an eternity.  There are few things worse in life…

Ok, so maybe there is but for now we’ll pretend there isn’t.  This is how I started my day, and I’m still a little bitter about it.

Another week…another dollar.  That seems to be my perspective lately.

I am looking forward to Thanksgiving though.  I work that night, so it’s just a day like any other but I’m still looking forward to cooking that afternoon and hanging out with the girls & Andrew.  This time next year Andrew will be deployed again, so I plan to live it up the best I can while he’s still around.  I mention his deployment like it’s no big thing, but trust me, it’s a sore point.  I’m trying to stay in denial as long as possible.

Last year I swore off the turkey…this year, I’m not sure I have the same resolve.  I have yet to buy a Turkey because all the commissary sold were Butterball Turkey’s and those I refuse to buy.  After work today I’m going to head out to the local Amish grocery store and get a turkey.    I can’t resist this year!  Andrew also bought a duck…he’s crazy about some duck.  I’m not sure I can say the same.  But we’ll see.

Anyway, I’ll leave this post with a few questions for any readers out there…

What dish are you most looking forward to this Thanksgiving?  Have any family favorites that show up every year, where it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving unless they were there?  As for me, it’s all pretty traditional stuff…sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce…etc.  I also like green bean casserole but I’m the only one in the family, so I won’t be making it this year…the same goes for stuffing…which is a rip off, and come to think of it I might just make enough for me, Thanksgiving NEEDS stuffing if nothing else!

Entry filed under: Randomness, Thanksgiving, The Worst.

Title’s are SO overrated What Was I Thinking?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TC  |  November 19, 2007 at 2:32 am

    I love the green bean casserole!! Don’t deny yourself. Green Giant makes a little frozen box of it, and as awful as that sounds it’s not that bad! Have a good Thanksgiving.

  • 2. Dwain  |  November 19, 2007 at 8:18 am

    Barb and I are having hotdogs for Thanksgiving. No big dinner this year, we are just not in the mood for it, with grandma and all. Don’t think we will even put a tree up this year.

    Hope your Thanksgiving is a GREAT ONE!!!

    We love you all,
    Dad & Barb

  • 3. visage76  |  November 19, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Tim- Thanks! I just might have to try the frozen green bean casserole, why should I miss out right?? 🙂

    Dad- Well that’s depressing. You should definitely have something besides hot dogs..grandma wouldn’t want you guys to totally skip out on thanksgiving would she? After all, you still have tons to be thankful for. And no tree? Audrey will be so disappointed in you! Love you

  • 4. Hilly  |  November 19, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Mine are pretty much all of the traditional things as well. My aunt makes this awesome broccoli casserole that I am going to try to replicate this year. Then there is a sweet potato souffle that I love and of course turkey, stuffing, and pieeee!

  • 5. poody  |  November 19, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    I love sweet potatoes too. But I make them like this; I peel about 4-5 and the slice them thin. Then 3-4 jalapenos chopped and seeded. take a cassarole dish layer in potatoes, then jalapenos, and salt and keep laywering like that then take heavy cream and pour over the whole thing just enought to top it off. Cook at 350-375 for about 45 minutes and they are so good. I like them better than the sweet kind with the sugar and cinnamon and marshmallows although that does sound pretty good I gotta get to lunch!

  • 6. visage76  |  November 19, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Hilly – Now that you mention pie..I think that might just be my favorite part! Thanks for the comment! I really need to de-lurk and comment more on your posts..I have no excuse, I’m there every day reading them!

    Poody – That recipe sounds awesome! I have to make the sweet kind for the kids, but Andrew’s not a big fan of it, yours on the other hand, he’d LOVE. He’s all about the jalapeños! Thanks for sharing!

  • 7. Dwain  |  November 20, 2007 at 7:22 am

    No not depressing, we are just the two of us and thats how we want to do it. We have a lot to be thankful for, just don’t need a dinner to show it.

    We won’t tell Miss Audrey. 🙂

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 9,048 hits

Credits

View My Portfolio

