I’m Not An Elitest, I’m An IDEALIST

November 25, 2007 at 4:37 am 5 comments

I’m back to the grind after having 3 nights off…I can’t begin to describe how nice it was. Thanksgiving went off without a hitch and my dinner was beyond yummy. Minus the Damn Duck; it was cooked how it should have been, but I didn’t like the flavor at all. Andrew tore it up though, so to each his own! After we were completely stuffed, the kids went to their rooms and played while Andrew and I vegged on the couch and got caught up with Dexter, a series on Showtime that is seriously good TV. If anybody else out there reading this watches the show, here’s a question for you! How excited are you for the next episode?!?! I can’t wait to see how Dexter gets out of this one, if he even does. If you haven’t seen the show, you should go out and buy the first season on DVD, or put it on your X’mas wish list – it’s only $28 on Amazon, which isn’t too bad considering it’s a whole season’s worth of episodes.

On Friday I stayed away from “Black Friday” like the plague. Doesn’t it sound like the plague? I don’t get why people subject themselves to the madness. I know you can get good deals, but I don’t think any amount of money saved would be worth the stress as far as I’m concerned. Crowds and me don’t get along well. I did creep out of the house about 7pm that night to go to the local Game Stop about 2 miles away though. I caved in and bought Super Mario Galaxy on the Wii, it was on my wish list for X’mas but I couldn’t wait any longer. The reviews have been outstanding, and for good reason, the game kicks ASS. I don’t always have a lot of time to play the Wii, but I like knowing it’s there when I do have the time. Now that I got through one song on Guitar Hero I’ve lost interest. I just had to know I could complete at least one song. Andrew and Taylor still get good use out of the game though. It’s a nightly routine for Andrew to play…he’s such a nerd. 😉 I think I’m going to buy him a Guitar Hero t-shirt from Hot Topic for X’mas to further cement his obession with the game. I never was one to help with recovery or breaking addictions. However, I’m pretty good at encouraging them. Hard to imagine huh? ha

Upon returning to work, I was greeted with a mess as usual. When I am off for even one day, you wouldn’t believe how much things go down hill. I don’t have a lot of faith in people these days, the mediocrity and willful ignorance frustrates me. Not that I’m perfect…but DAMN there are a lot of idiots walking around out there. You can’t escape them…they are everywhere. The staff in my cottage functioned for 2 days in a kitchen with the lights off because one of the switches didn’t work when they went to turn it on. They assumed ALL the lights were out, turned in a work order and went about cooking & eating in the dark. Did they think of trying the opposite light switch on another wall? No sir. That would take too much effort. So of course I come in tonight and security tells me all of this, and I walk into the kitchen and sure enough…all they had to do was turn on the other light switch. Idiots. Never mind the fact that most of the staff I work with have college degrees…all though now days I’m not sure that says anything either. I know I sound like I’m a cranky 80 yr old instead of the young 31 I am, but that’s exactly what I’m getting at. Look how all the stupidity in the world has aged me!

Unfortunatly, the above situation is just one example of crap I run into everyday, not only at work, but every time I step outside my front door or get in my car. I know this may make me sound a little bit like an elitist….but why can’t the more “evolved”, less half-assed/lazy, not chronically self obsessed , hard workers & LOGICAL thinkers have our own planet or something? Is that too much to ask? Like I said, I’m not perfect and I have plenty of things I could improve on, but when it comes to being a pain in societies ass..this I am not. Although now that I think about it, you can’t really be a ” pain in societies ass” when most of our society is ruled & inhabited by these people, so maybe I should have just said that society is a pain in MY ASS. Not that there aren’t plenty of intelligent people around, I just think we are too scattered out….we need to join forces and start a social reform; in great numbers we could lead by example and perhaps have a little influence over our impressionable under dogs!  Hehe.   There’s hope anyways.

I know I sound like a bitter snob, but it frustrates me because there’s nothing I can do about these daily encounters I have with random idiots who don’ t have a clue. And trust me…it’s not that my standards are really high for people, I just need a little consideration, some work ethic, and for people to peek out of their box long enough to see the whole picture and not just what is going on in their own world. Obviously that’s a little too much to ask though.

Sorry for b*tching, but that rant NEEDED to come out. It’s been eating at me for a while now!

Entry filed under: Rants, Thanksgiving, Wii Madness, work woes.

THANKSgiving Anyone Home?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dwain  |  November 25, 2007 at 10:43 am

    Barb says you are definitely my daughter. As I read her your rant she said “sounds like you ranting”, lol. Love you big Sister!!!

    Dad

  • 2. poody  |  December 6, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    I hate duck but love Dexter. I haven’t seen the latest one but have it recorded. I am spoiled to Showtime on demand though. He is one strange dude for sure. Did you ever watch 6 feeet under? he was a main character in that as well.

  • 3. poody  |  December 6, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    P.S. I swear you are my long lost love child! We have so much in common. Again i say if I had a daughter I would want her to be just like you!

  • 4. visage76  |  December 6, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    🙂 you are too sweet poody – thanks for that..

  • 5. visage76  |  December 6, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    “I hate duck but I love Dexter”

    Haha…I’m with you!! I hate duck…but love Dexter. Andrew says he has enough room in his heart for both…lol.

    I usually watch the episodes on demand too! The last one that was on we watched live though because I just really want to see how it all works out! I loved him from Six Feet Under…that whole series kicks serious ass. One of these days I want the box set to it. When I first saw that he was the leading character on Dexter I was a little skeptical if I would like it and be able to forget about him being the gay funeral director….but it hasn’t been a problem at all..he’s a great actor.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 9,056 hits

Credits

View My Portfolio

