100 Mile Challenge

January 9, 2008 at 1:43 am 2 comments

I started this year a week late, I wasn’t ready for all the responsibility the “New Year” holds…..talk about a lot of hype. I haven’t really made any resolutions, but I am trying to bring in some new habits with the new year. So maybe that is a resolution? Whatever….

Andrew and I are doing a “100 mile challenge” against each other. Whoever gets to the 100 mile mark first WINS! Bragging rights more than anything. We haven’t been able to come up with a better prize yet…I’m open to suggestions 🙂 Between each other we’re pretty competitive, so just keeping a running tally is motivating us thus far. Andrew started the challenge Monday, and I didn’t get on the wagon until yesterday, so right now he’s 1.5 miles ahead of me. I logged 3 miles on the treadmill today though, so if I do the same today I’ll be passing his ass soon! He runs every morning at PT, but they usually only go 2 miles or a little over, and on Wednesday’s he does combat training technique stuff, so it’s the perfect opportunity to catch up. Hopefully he doesn’t come home and get on the treadmill too…if he does I’ll have to use my powers of prowess and LURE him off…hehe…I don’t fight fair.

Anyway, it’s all in an effort to start exercising more, and feeling better because of it. I used to be all about running, but that was 2 years ago and my ASS has paid the price for slacking. It’s high time to get back in the groove!

I’m going to be adding a tally of the miles I’ve done at the end of each post from now on. If nothing else it will hold me accountable and if I start slacking I’ll have a visual reminder. Even if I don’t post for a particular day I plan on at least logging in and updating my mileage.

Anyway. 3 miles down – 97 to go!

Oh! BTW – if anyone would like to join the race, I’d be happy to have a little more competition! Just let me know, and I’ll update your totals daily too. 🙂

1/08/08

G: 3.0

A: 4.5

Entry filed under: 100 Mile Challenge.

And on the 8th Day… I’m Falling Apart

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dad  |  January 9, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Sounds great! I have been thinking about start running again myself. Haven’t been to the gym in I don’t know how long. In fact am cancling my membership, got to tighten our belts around here for awhile. And with running I can still maintain and lose some pounds too.

    Love you g!!!

  • 2. TC  |  January 9, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    I put in over 300 miles yesterday! Oh wait, does driving a car not count??
    I admire you, way to go!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 9,056 hits

Credits

View My Portfolio

