I Need One Of Those Stress Balls!

April 10, 2008 at 1:14 am 2 comments

You know it’s a sign of the times when there are entire stores online that are dedicated to the selling of “stress balls” — just sayin.

Anyhow……

I think everything (template wise) is back on track now; I finally forked over the $15 to play a little with the CSS and clearly didn’t realize what I was getting into. Not that my tweaking skills are off par, it just had to do with how WordPress goes about playing with your style sheet once you choose the upgrade. It took me a little while to realize what was happening, and the whole time I swear I was about to lose it. I had just got home, and both of the my girls were there, sick and coughing, but claiming to be well enough to run around the house like they weren’t. This alone was seriously annoying, not to mention I was tired….then for some stupid reason I logged into my account and from there it’s history. It wasn’t the best timing to get into it, my patience level was horribly low, and I haven’t been able to shake the frustration all day…regarding my template & header, and just with life going on around me in general.

Andrew came home from work today all happy go lucky that his work week was over…wanting to go out to eat and have a beer to celebrate. All I really wanted to do was slap him and go back to bed. He has a 4 day weekend, more power to him….but I don’t, so it’s not nearly the excitement for me. Men.

Anyway, more so on my mind is how the public around Fort Drum seems to enjoy making snide comments on “how nice” it must be for soldiers to get discounts at some of the stores (a whole 10%) and upon learning Andrew has a 4 day weekend they say “nice to see my tax dollars at work” ….are you fucking kidding me? Then they bitch about how the expansion of troops & families is causing horrible traffic, because a lot more businesses and restaurants have been built. There are a lot more people on the road because of the population increase, but also because it’s bringing in people from neighboring counties…or countries, like Canada. Really? Do I even have to begin the rant of how that’s helping your local economy? I understand your town isn’t like it used to be, and maybe you preferred it quiet and small..I can’t blame you, but it’s certainly not the soldiers or my fault. We don’t have a choice where they send us, so get the hell over it.

No worries though. There will be a lot of soldiers deploying to Iraq soon, so I’m sure your traffic situation will improve. It’s all about you right? And regarding some of the discounts local businesses give us? Last I heard it’s a voluntary Army…you’re free to sign up at anytime, so you can get your discount too.. if it means so much to you.

It’s entirely too frustrating for me, and I don’t want to get on the self-pity train about how much I personally sacrifice, let alone how much Andrew does…but it’s more than most people could ever imagine. He misses out on so much. We miss out on so much. When he leaves this fall for another year over in Iraq it will truly break my heart…it’s hard on me and even more so on his children. And to think there are people out there that don’t have anything better to do but bitch about such stupid things is disheartening for sure.

Come Friday night I will be tuning it all out….I plan on getting pretty wasted so I can take all Saturday to recover before I go back to work that night. Sounds like a plan! Maybe it’s not the best one out there, but it works for me…and that’s really all that matters, right?

Entry filed under: Rants, stupidity.

Less Is More My Kid Rocks!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TC  |  April 10, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Every time I grumble about the tanks shaking my house over from Ft. Knox, I realize that I did in fact CHOOSE to live here. Kinda like how I get amused when people that live next to the airport complain about flightplans of planes changing and flying directly over their house. Um…..OK, then! Some people would have no life if they had nothing to complain about…
    So take my personal “thanks” for YOUR sacrifice. Doesn’t go unnoticed here!

  • 2. paulmct  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Good work on the header.

    Some people will complain about anything, including growth and prosperity.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 9,056 hits

Credits

View My Portfolio

