You Can’t Win Them All

April 15, 2008 at 1:43 am 2 comments

I’m exhausted. I can’t remember if I mentioned it, but I was scheduled for a double shift yesterday. I came in at midnight on Sunday (technically Monday morning) and didn’t get off until 4:30pm. Working over 16 hours straight while having a cold? Not fun. Then getting home at 5, only to have to be back up in 4 hours to get ready for another overnight shift? Really not fun!

My job is horribly short of staff at the moment, so we are expected to help pick up the slack and memo’s are sent out enforcing “mandatory overtime”. We just can’t seem to keep staff around for very long. For some reason most people can’t handle punk ass teenagers calling them names and trying to sneak shit behind their back 24/7. ( I say this sarcastically, I know it’s not easy) For me, it’s challenging, but honestly it comes pretty easy. I’ll admit that the first weekend I worked at my job and some 15 yr old male resident threw an apple at me and called me a c*nt, definitely rattled me. Not in a scared way, it just pissed me off. He was escalated over LEMONADE..and the fact that I wouldn’t give him any. I get paid to tell them what to do, not the other way around, so after being told “I better” get him some lemonade…there was no way in hell it was going to happen. So as he was going on and on, calling me names, yelling that he was going to “snuff me” all I could say was ” Seriously? Over lemonade?” in my most smart-ass tone. Then proceeded to tell him he needed to grow the hell up and that I was “so scared”. Yeah…I’m not supposed to get into a “power struggle” but I couldn’t help it, the situation was so uncalled for it was hard not to react.

Anyway, what I’m getting at is I don’t find that sort of thing hard to do. You can’t be afraid to tell a kid “no” or not give him what he’s asking for. (your own kid, or otherwise) So many staff are, and then the residents just run them right over, and then they wonder why they can’t handle the stress and end up quitting. It makes your job harder in the beginning, being a hard ass, but in the long run, the kids respect you and the boundaries are clear and they know what they can and can’t get away with, that way they aren’t constantly testing the waters.

We are taught all of this in training, but most people just come away with trying to “be cool” and liked. It’s a flawed plan though. Being cool with them should be saved for last, and not the first play of the day. I could give a fuck less if you think I’m “down”….its such a relative term, I don’t know why people bother. For every “fan” there are at least 10 people out there that can’t stand you, and that’s the kind of shit I can’t be concerned with. They say “you can’t win them all” – which if you think about it, are some pretty wise words that should be permanently etched into our heads each and every day. Gone would be the notion of trying to impress others by what you wear, say, or do, in that never ending struggle to get everyone around you smiling. If you truly embrace this saying, there’s only yourself to impress. Which is really all that matters in the end anyway. How you feel about YOU. Fuck the rest.

Huh. I have no idea where that came from. Told you I was exhausted.

Entry filed under: I'm a zombie, Rants, work woes.

Strawberries & Cream Miami Florida?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TC  |  April 16, 2008 at 10:30 am

    You should blog more often when tired…pure brilliance from exhaustion!

  • 2. visage76  |  April 16, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Thanks STRANGer!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 9,056 hits

Credits

View My Portfolio

