The Gratitude Campaign

May 8, 2008 at 2:18 am 2 comments

How do you say thanks to a soldier?

That was the subject line to an email I received yesterday from a friend. I thought it might be a cute joke actually. As I clicked through the link provided and watched the video I found out it was most definitely not a joke, and it really hit home for me. With Andrew’s deployment looming in the near future and thinking of having to say good-bye to him for a year or more again…it makes me cry just thinking about it. (remember yesterday’s post though!) And even though when I think about it I’m busy feeling sorry for myself, I also think about how I am just one of many that will be horribly missing a husband, a lover, a father, a friend, a son, a brother…or a wife, mother, sister…etc….and of course that doesn’t really help improve my mood either.

This campaign is really cool though, because it can be awkward for soldiers when strangers profusely thank them, to most of them, they are just doing their job and they don’t really think any thanks is needed…Andrew included. But I say it never hurts to acknowledge the sacrifice, and even though he may play it off, I’m sure he appreciates it.

So if you want, check out the video, or go to the website and see and read about it there. 🙂

Entry filed under: Andrew, Army Life.

Violet Hill I’m Yours

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. smalltownks  |  May 8, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    That’s strange you would write this post. Today I was leaving the store and a soldier was getting out of her car. I waved at her and she looked at me and I said only wanted to say thank you. She smiled and said thank you.
    I don’t know why I did it, it just came to me. I am very proud of all our soldier and because of you and Andrew I feel I understand their sacrifice better. What mean just what they are giving up to go do their duty. They don’t have to, as some don’t. Andrew it is not just doing your job, that’s what I do. You give all for all of us, and sad to say some don’t really appeciate or even try to understand just how big of a sacrifice it is. I think I will continue to say thank you to all the soldiers I come accross.

    Love you both. ( GO ARMY)
    Dad

  • 2. joep72  |  June 30, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    As a Soldier serving in Iraq right now, I really appreciate your thoughtfulness and sincerity. Your support goes much further than you can possibly imagine. God bless you!

    JoeP72
    http://sandboxadventures.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 9,050 hits

Credits

View My Portfolio

